26
Jul
12

Fear and Queering in New Jersey

My most recent ex-girlfriend, we’ll call her Diane, recently announced she is “dating a boy.”  I received this message over text, and the medium seemed perfect.  I had time to confront my initial reaction: betrayal.  I hate this reaction, but we all have our dark sides.  I am el sensitivo.

First, this reaction reflects a colossal hypocrisy on my part.  I had previously avoided telling Diane about my continued involvement with the lovely I call “exception man.”  I’ve written about this sort of reverse closet—the shame of feeling mostly gay and dealing with self-inflicted guilt when a person of the opposite sex, um, makes in-roads.  So who am I to feel betrayed, to revoke her sensible shoes and no men save Justin Timberlake membership card?

Second, my reaction smacks of something else…fear?  Diane has not dated a man in 14 years.  I’m still young enough that such a time span is breathtaking.  I haven’t even been out that long!  How does one really know and live their sexuality?  Why do I care so much about this question?  I admire many friends who just, to borrow from Rilke, live such questions.  Their love and/or sex seem less fraught.  Of course, those same friends likely admire my willingness to share my identity with everyone, a gay 7-11 if you will.

So what exactly am I afraid of?  I know my guilt around exception man reflects a sense that he deserves so much more than the true affection of a lesbian.  Maybe it’s a basic fear of hurting people?  In the case of Diane however, I think it’s something more.  I’ve blogged about the transference of shame when my ex Sylvia would edit me out of her life to her parents.  The loss of solidarity I feel certainly has a note of shame.  The kicker is deeper though.  I’m afraid of being alone.  This is progress.  Say what?  Well, I used to be afraid that I would settle, settle for a poor bloke who couldn’t possibly know the love of which I am capable.  Living in the NE has taught me this: I would rather be alone.  I would rather marry my profession.  I would rather seek the solace of kinship.

As friend Miranda always says, I need more information (before strategizing).  This is the way I operate; I over-analyze to the point of absurdity.  I do this immediately.  So I stopped.  I dropped.  I rolled.  I called Diane.  I no longer feel betrayed.  To say more would betray her confidence, but I am happy for her and happy for the opportunity to examine my own prejudices.  Please feel free to chat with me about this in comments, in-person, or via e-mail.  I would love nothing more than to spur conversations from these posts.


0 Responses to “Fear and Queering in New Jersey”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Creative Commons License
Chasing Jessica by ChasingJessica5 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.